Beat the Clock!

image

Photo from Pixabay

So, one of the aspects of freelance writing is working on a schedule. It’s not the hourly sort of schedule you may find in an office-type setting, but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t the always present and never to be forgotten deadlines hanging over your head.

Some people are great at working on things little by little. You know, making steady progress all the way up to that day, circled in red on the calendar, when the client will be eagerly awaiting their submission. 

I’m not one of those people–I never have been. Even back in high school, I was the kid that waited until the night before to work on my final paper. I still got A’s (usually) so, I guess my system just sort of worked for me.

Well, when you have 20, 30, even 50K long projects waiting to be done, you can’t simply sit down the night before and write them. Or can you…?

No, I’m totally kidding. You can’t.

So, given my work load, and the fact that I really do strive to do my best on everything I do, I have tried to work on outlining a sort of schedule for myself. I’ve tried everything.

My plan started like this:

Monday- 2 hours on Client A; 2 hours on Client B; 2 hours on Mom and Me stuff

Tuesday- 2 hours on Client C; 2 hours on Client D; 2 hours on Mom and Me stuff

And… well, you get the idea. I tried to organize things into hours. Needless to say, that didn’t work. I have a husband who’s a teacher, so he’s home for the summer and wants to hang out. I have a puppy that runs around the house, begging for my attention, and I have friends who like to text me the very instant I sit down to work (seriously, I think there’s some sort of sensor in my chair that let’s people know when I’m sitting down so they can start messaging me like crazy).

So, I’ve switched to a “Monday= as much as I can for client A” “Tuesday= as much as I can for client B” type of system. It seems to be working out okay… But, it’s still something new, so I’ll let you know how it goes.

The point of all of this rambling is simple–I’m one of those people that needs to be stressed to work. I seriously do some of my best writing if I am obligated to sit down and do it. Weird, right?

If I have tons of time on my hands, I will spend 98% of that time on Facebook or checking what’s new on Netflix. Then, the last little 2% I’ll race to finish whatever I need to.

As much as I want to, and try to, change that about myself, it’s never going to happen. It’s who I am. And, all you organized, plan-ahead type of people–you’re awesome. I don’t know how you do it. I guess we just all have our own way of doing things that works for us. It sucks that mine just so happens to be the reason why my blood pressure may reach unprecedented highs some days… but hey, at least I still get paid!

2 thoughts on “Beat the Clock!

  1. Eliza says:

    Thanks for this breakdown! As a mom who is just looking to start Freelancing, it is awesome to get some in-the-trenches perspective 😉 It’s also inspiring to see you rocking this lifestyle–I love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

