Freelancing- the good, the bad, the reality

Freelance writing is a great way to make a little extra cash while doing something you love! There are a lot of advantages to entering the world of “ghostwriting” and “SEO” writing and all the other types of “writing” you find people paying other people to do.

However, there are also some disadvantages to being a freelance writer. So, in this post I want to sit down and just have a nice chat about what it REALLY means to be a “freelancer” (this doesn’t necessarily relate ONLY to writers. Freelancers of any kind will come across these same things). To do that, I’m going to look at three specific elements of the job. 

Hours

You get to make your own hours- PRO!

One of the great things about working in this field is that you don’t have any tight schedule to follow. Are you a night owl? No problem! No one is sitting at the office waiting for you to clock in. Are you an early riser? Great! Get up and get busy!

But those hours seem to constantly fluctuate-CON!

If you’re like me, you find it hard to keep to a “set schedule” if it’s a self-imposed one. I try to tell myself “Ok, self,  you’re going to work from 9am-2pm today, then a little more after a lunch break from 4pm-6pm” (I attempt to follow a very “Spanish” schedule in case you didn’t notice).

Well, to my demise, it never works out that way. I always get distracted by something or the other (walk the puppy!! Or… oops! I forgot to get food… I should probably go to the store and do that…).

It’s not only that, though. I also have to take into account the fact that I’m in Spain, and my clients are not. Some are in the States, some are in England… they’re all over the place! So, if I’m waiting for feedback on something, it almost never comes during the aforementioned schedule I try to set up for myself. I could just wait and check all my messages the next day during my “scheduled” work time–but I just can’t do that. I always feel like I need to respond right away!

Technology

Working from the comfort of my own home, with my own computer-PRO!

Technology has made it so easy for anyone wanting to be a freelancer. As I mentioned before, I have clients all over the world! And I can interact with them with nothing more than the click of a button! I can chat with them while I’m in my pajamas, sipping my tea, and watching Spongebob in the background. It’s great!

It’s EVERYWHERE…-Con!

The problem with the new technological age is that you can be accessed anywhere, anytime! All of our phones have our e-mail on them, not to mention the apps that the various freelancing platforms have set up. It’s inevitable that right when I get cozy on the couch to watch a movie that the soft “ding” of my e-mail sounds, letting me know I’ve just received a message from someone.

Not to mention the fact that technology fails sometimes–especially if you’re working with my computer that locks up regularly!

Clients

Good Clients, Bad Clients, and Everything in between!

One thing about working as a freelancer is that you have a plethora of different clients and you’re probably working for all of them at the same time. They all have their own guidelines and expectations. They all want something different, and you’re expected to remember who wants what, when, and how.

I’ve made a nice little color-coded system that works for me. But, at first, it was kind of overwhelming.

Another thing about working with clients is the inevitable–you may get some really awful clients. The really picky ones that never seem to be happy with what you do. And, they ask for the most ridiculous things!

I’ve been SO fortunate! I have had amazing clients. They give structure but still freedom. They always give constructive feedback. Overall, they’re all just amazing to work with. BUT, I know I’ve been pretty lucky. I’ve heard some REAL HORROR STORIES!

IN SHORT…

Freelancing is a great gig, it really is. But,  just like any job, it has its pros and cons.
BUT, at the end of the day, you’re still getting paid to do something you love, so, I guess that one “pro” really does outweigh all the others.

Leave a Reply

