My Memories of Bangkok, Thailand

IMG_4715

Photo by me

My Memories of Bangkok, Thailand.

All I have is memories of my time spent in Bangkok.  The photos I took are packed away somewhere and that could be in many places, tucked away at my parents home, our place in Kentucky, and even possibly in a box above my garage.

It amazes me how, when I recall a place in my mind, it goes to a photo that I took.  I have always loved taking pictures.  I’ll never forget getting my first camera when I was ten years old, my father took me to the PX, a military acronym for a military retail store, and let me pick out a camera for getting good grades on my report card.  It was an Olympus Pen 35 mm half frame camera.  I still own it as you can see in the photo above.

I lived in Bangkok at that time and certain pictures I took then will always be in my memories.  The Emerald Buddha, the Royal Barge, the Floating Market, friends, family, holidays, animals and so many more.  Memories captured by a child to be always remembered.

The memories I captured by these pictures can even still bring back the sounds, smells, taste and the awe of the moment.  I tell myself “You need to find that picture!” Of course, I never do, thinking to myself one day I will collect all these memories and put them in photo books, categorizing, and jotting down notes.  Then I completely talk myself out of it because no one will feel that memory as I remember it, even if I did all of that.  It is my memory of that moment I hold and cherish.

One thought on “My Memories of Bangkok, Thailand

Leave a Reply

